What Are Chakras?



The simplest definition of these complex engines is that they are the junction where our mind, body and spirit connect.

The word is derived from the Sanskrit word for wheel. When mind, body and spirit are in alignment, the chakras are considered to be balanced.

Each of the chakras is associated with individual mind, body and spiritual qualities. The healing energy, or life force that intersect in each chakra is called Prana. It is believed that illness is due in part to blockages in the flow of this energy. These blockages can be concentrated in one or more chakras and can affect any or all three life systems: Body, mind or spirit.
The objective of spiritual healing via chakra balancing, is to restore flow of Prana and balance to these areas.

The 7 Major Chakras

Each of the 7 major chakras is visualized to be located in the trunk of the body.
When meditating or using healing energy, you will normally begin at the bottom and work your way up.

List of the 7 Major Chakras:

  1. Root Chakra
  2. Sacral Chakra
  3. Solar Plexus Chakra
  4. Heart Chakra
  5. Throat Chakra
  6. Third Eye Chakra
  7. Crown Chakra

Individual Chakra Features and Meditation Instructions:


1. Root Chakra (Muladhara): Red

Mantra: “I Am” Sanscrit: So’han
Crystal- Red Jasper
Gland- Adrenal
Element- Earth
Fragrance- Patchouli

As the name suggests, this chakra is the foundation of stability and safety.

Located near the tailbone, it addresses the basic needs that ground day-to-day life.
In practical terms, it is used to release tension and stress in the body.

Visualize breathing the color red into the
base of the spine area.

Allow the color to expand with the inhale. Visualize this red light spreading through the entire body.

Now, with the exhale, breath out any tension or negative energy.

2. Sacral Chakra (Svadhishana): ORANGE 

Mantra: “I Feel” Sanscrit ‘vam’
Crystal- carnelian
Gland- testes / ovaries
Element- water
Fragrance- ylang-ylang

This chakra is the home of sexual and creative energy. It is just below the navel and provides enjoyment in life. This is where we release negative emotions.

Visualize breathing the color orange into the groin area.

Allow the color to expand with the inhale.
Visualize the orange light from the groin area spreading through the entire body, gathering any negative energy blockages.
As you exhale, breath out the negative energy.

3. Solar Plexus Chaka (Manipura): YELLOW

Mantra: “I Do” Sanscrit ‘ram’
Crystal- citrine
Gland- pancreas
Element- fire
Fragrance- neroli

Occupying the central abdomen region beneath the breastbone.
This chakra contributes to self-confidence and self-esteem.
Use this chakra to visualize your personality and self image as you would like it to be.

Visualize breathing the color yellow into the area above the naval. Allow the color to expand with the inhale, spreading through the entire body and gathering any negative energy.
As you exhale, breath out the blockages and negative energy.

4. Heart Chakra (Anahata): GREEN

Mantra: “I Love” Sanscrit ‘yam’
Crystal- malachite
Gland- thymus
Element- air
Fragrance- rose

Consistent with the wide association between the heart and love, this chakra is located in the central chest area.
It is responsible for forgiveness, compassion, and kindness.
This chakra is used to visualize a sense of inner peace and well being.

Visualize breathing the color green into the center of the chest and through the heart area.
Allow the color to expand with each breath.
Expand the color green through the entire body, gathering any tension or negative energy.
As you exhale, breath out any negativity or blockages.

5. Throat Chakra (Vishuddha): BLUE

Mantra: “I Speak” Sanscrit ‘ham’
Crystal- blue lace agate
Gland- thyroid
Element- ether
Fragrance- lavender

True to its location, this chakra gives your personal truths a voice.
It represents the self expression and independence as you increasingly become more assertive and self assured.

Visualize breathing the color blue into the throat area.
Allow the color to spread throughout the entire body, gathering any self doubt or negativity.
As you exhale, breath out the blockages and negative energy.

6. Third Eye Chakra (Ajna): INDIGO

Mantra: “I See” Sanscrit ‘om’
Crystal- lapis lazuli
Gland- pituitary
Element- light
Fragrance- sandalwood

Also referred to as the mind’s eye, or third eye, this chakra is housed just between the eyebrows and is responsible for intuition, inspiration and inner sight.
This is where you connect to your innermost self, or inner child. It is where your inner ‘knowing’ exists.

Visualize breathing the color indigo into the forehead area over the brow.
Allow the color to spread throughout the entire body, gathering tension and negative energy.
As you exhale, release the negativity and blockages.

7. Crown Chakra (Sahaswara): VIOLET

Mantra: “I Understand” Sanscrit ‘aum’
Crystal- amethyst
Gland- pineal
Element- space
Fragrance- frankincense

This chakra allows the mind to achieve its most enlightened of spirituality, courage and values. This chakra provides the strongest spiritual connection with the surrounding universe.
It is here that we are able to manifest our highest goals and ideals.

Visualize breathing in the color violet through the top of the head.
Allow the color to spread throughout the entire body, gathering negativity, fear and blockages.
As you exhale, release all negative energy and blockages.

A Balancing Act

Since our physical, mental and spiritual reality are connected at these 7 points, it is in these areas that we place our focus in order to achieve and maintain integrative, healthy balance.

Beginning at the bottom and working through each chakra while visualizing the function and color is the simplest way to start.

By doing this exercise as a daily routine, it is also a beneficial way to notice how stress, anxiety, pain or any other negative condition may exist.
First notice, and then make adjustments before negativity can manifest in illness or injury.

Conversely, if there is already disease, this is where we begin to unravel the conditions that may have contributed to that state.

Healing Practitioners

Healing practitioners may use different methods of helping you channel your own energy; Crystals or music frequencies; even essential oils for the soothing and regenerative effects of aromatherapy.

Reiki healers may use chakras to open areas of the body and allow the Prana, or universal life energy to balance the chakras.

Just being more aware of your chakras is the first step to beginning a self-care routine that incorporates body, mind and spirit.

Get to know each chakra, become intimate with it and familiar with how it works. You will be amazed at how simple it is to transform your enjoyment of life!


Take this short quiz and find out!

This is a short, but very powerful way to take a look at how your current lifestyle may be affecting your body, mind and spiritual well being.
You do NOT have to provide any email or other personal information to see your results and gain value from this simple quiz.

Take The Quiz!